Anticipated reads for 2017

It was fun on the first day of 2017 to go through my GR to-read list, and see what books most excite me coming out this year. I only picked books where I can display a cover (sorry, Patrick Ness Released and Amelia Westlake by Erin Gough), and while there will be others that come along and I will be grateful for the surprise, for now here are my 6 most anticipated reads for this year.

weareokWe are okay by Nina LaCour (February 2016)

I haven’t read her last novel yet (hmm, note to self: DO THAT!), but I did read her collaboration with David Levithan last year, and loved it so much.

This is a great cover, and the blurb talks about secrets and leaving home, and lost best friends. It’s going to be awesome!

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor (March 2016)strangedreamer

Taylor’s Daughter of Smoke and Bone series blew me away when I read it, and although there’s been plenty of short stories and sage words on Twitter, this is her first full length novel since 2014. It will be just as the title explains, I reckon–a bit strange, and plenty dreamy. Here is the blurb on GR

I am jealous of all those who have already read it. Such an arresting cover too.

secretscienceThe Secret Science of Magic by Melissa Keil (March 2016) OzYA

Another geeky, romantic and quirky novel from an author who offers strong protagonists and lots of emotion. A magician? A genuis? Wrong timing? Nothing sounds better.

Here is the Blurb from GR.

The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli (March 2016)upsideunrequited

This is one I have already read, and loved it so much. Another one that is full of geeky pop references, with script writing and crafting! The boys are also positive representations, but they are also real and authentic. Becky also explores gender roles, body image, and friendship between siblings. It’s a story that embraces the diversity and intelligence. Also [spoiler! Simon!] Squee!

Will definitely re-read.

gentlemansguideThe Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue Mackenzi Lee (June 2016)

The best thing about Goodreads for me is books like this appear on my feed, and my curiosity is piqued. An historical travel adventure that follows two young men from friendship to something more (maybe?), including pirates! Paris! and danger! I think it sounds like a book trying to address some misplaced myths about queerness and diversity in a historical context.You know by now my love for all things LGBTQIA for young people.

Keen to have a look.

Ballad for a Mad Girl Vikki Wakefield (June 2016) Oz YAballadmad

I don’t even have to read the blurb for this one. Wakefield is an auto-buy/read for me. Her work is painful and sharp, but her insights ring true. Her flawed characters reflect much Aussie character, and her ability to incorporate landscape as an integral aspect of the plot is rarely matched.

Can’t wait.

 

 

Do you have any books you are excited about?

2 thoughts on “Anticipated reads for 2017

  1. Vikki is on my auto-buy list too (this book is apparently a little different to the others, but who cares! It’s Vikki!). A Shadow’s Breath by Nicole Hayes & the Cath Crowley, Fiona Wood & Simmone Howell collaboration are my other big ones but there’s so much good stuff coming out – very exciting year for #LoveOzYA 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

